Players Championship of Europe History

The Players Championship (TPC) Of Europe isn’t all that similar to the PGA of America’s Players Championship. It isn’t played close to the European Tour headquarters, and doesn’t represent the richest of all European Tour events. However, it does attract top-notch international golfers and promises spectators some of the most exciting golf of the season. It has also become one of the richest events, outside the majors, on the European Tour calendar.

Players Championship of Europe History, pre-1995

The first golf tournament known as The Players Championship (TPC) Of Europe was played at Foxhills Golf Club in Surrey, England, in 1977. The winner of the first event, which offered a prize fund of £39,950, was Neil Coles. The TPC tournament at Foxhills was repeated in 1978.

From 1978 up to 1990, the name “TPC” was used to describe a variety of different tournaments. The SOS Talisman TPC was played in 1979 at Moor Park Golf Club in Ricksmanworth, England. Each of the three years following this saw the Haig Whiskey TPC played at different clubs – the Moortown in Leeds in 1980, Dalmahoy Golf Club in Edinburgh in 1981 and Notts Golf Club in Hollinwell, England in 1982. The total prize fund for the 1982 competition, which was won by golf pro Nick Faldo, was £69,802.

In 1983 and 1984, the St. Mellion Timeshare TPC was played at St Mellion Golf Club in Cornwall, England. 1986 saw the Lawrence Batley International TPC played at The Belfry for a total prize fund of £130,630.

In 1989 and 1990, the Portuguese Open TPC was played at Quinta do Lago in the Algarve, Portugal – by 1990, for a total prize fund standing at £278,915.

Between 1991 and 1994, no “TPC” was played, although the Honda Open took its place.

Players Championship of Europe History, 1995 onwards

The Players Championship Of Europe as we know it today, with sponsorship from the Deutsche Bank, has been played in Germany, at either the Gut Kaden Golf Club or at Golf Club St Leon-Rot, since 1995. In 1995, German Bernhard Langer won the inaugural Deutsche Bank Open TPC Of Europe, which had a total prize fund of £656,783. By 2007, the prize fund for the tournament – now paid in euros – had increased to a whopping €3,648,492 (about £2.7 million)!

See Players Championship Of Europe winners for a list of all the winners since 1977.

Don’t miss the continuation of the Players Championship Of Europe history at Gut Kaden in July 2008! You can make the tournament doubly exciting by betting on your favourite players. See Players Championship Of Europe betting for betting tips and hints.